I Forgot!

I had a sudden ghastly thought that I don’t think the Ninja was serviced AT ALL last year. By the book, it’s 6k or 12 months. I had in my head that all the work done last year when it was knocked over basically covered the service. So I had in my head that it was soon, but not immediate.

The chain and sprockets were pretty new and the tyres as well. These were all replaced after the MotoGP trip. As they had to replace the radiator later and the engine case when it was knocked over, that’s the oil and coolant changed too. That all happened in late 2022 and early 2023.

I was in the middle of running my pushbikes through servicings, when I thought, hold on, when was the last one.

And I panicked. It looked like I’d missed a major. Then after I booked it in, I realised that it appeared my last service was just after 43K and there is a major at 48K. THEN I discovered (because I’ve only been doing short trips it has snuck up) that the bike had 53K on it. I’d almost missed the next service. This has never happened or even close across 4 bikes and several cars and more than 20 years of ownership.

After all this anxiety, the servicing went well. I got another Z900 as a loaner. It’s a shame I had no where to go that day. But I did see how much fun a playful and slim naked is for traffic. And other rides on the Z900 have shown it to be a fun ride.

Since then I was looking at some info to update my records (I have a spreadsheet that tracks kms and time on various parts – like tyres, chain, etc of my bike)(really, are you surprised that I would do that?) when it looks like my rear pads seem to have decreased in wear over the past few services (was 40%, then 20% and now 10%).

BUT

THEN I DISCOVERED

that back in November of 2022 I already did the 48K service.

Soooo, now I’ve done an extra one (can’t see that as a bad thing for my bike, but my wallet doesn’t agree). And I get the relief of the “no, I didn’t miss a servicing feeling”.

I might get a little check over just before MotoGP, but with pretty fresh tyres, chain/sprockets maybe about 30% worn and everything else fresh I don’t think it will really need it. As long as I ride it to keep the battery charged etc, mechanically it should be set for the trip.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to ride my motorbike and if I ever find the time, to play computer games. This blog started out as just WoW, but has moved onto a whole lot of different things.

Leave a comment