MotoGP24 Trip

I guess for the frequent visitor here, it is not a surprise when I say I’ve started planning my MotoGP24 trip. The dates were released last year and work has recently approved my leave. The usual Wednesday to Wednesday schedule, but this time I have to be at the Island early on both Saturday and Sunday as they are both basically race days now.

Even after returning successfully last time I did have some doubt about camping on this next trip. However, due to changes in where friends live and admittedly, budget I am looking to camp along the way. Not over the weekend though and not in Canberra. So in reality, its only 1 extra night that last time (total of 3 camps). With the obvious option, if the weather really packs it in, I find a motel or pub somewhere to wait it out.

There are a couple of favourite roads I’d like to keep in, a couple of favourites I would like to see return, but also some new ideas for this trip.

So here goes some of the plan.

Day one – looks like a dash to the Canberra region, most likely my old favourite way past Bungonia. There is an alternate plan to head down Kangaroo Valley and up through Nerriga, across to Tarago and then Canberra. I will likely save that for the return trip when I’m leaving from Canberra though.

So once I’ve hit Canberra I am looking at heading North and East, rather than my usual South to Cooma. Most of these options have some dirt, which from current reports is in good shape. Slow going on road bikes, but a couple of these roads are frequently used by road bikes (I’m talking VFRs and K series BMWs, very similar to my Z1000SX). One option is to Wee Jasper (sealed) to Tumut (mostly sealed), Brindabella Rd (partly sealed) or around the Hume to Tumut (sealed but some interstate). Maybe pushing to Tumbarumba on day 1. Maybe not. Camp in either Tumut or Tumbarumba. (for those outside Australia, yes these are real place names!). These are almost all new choices (I’ve done the highway to Tumut but it was 2007).

Day two. Get through the mountains via Tumbarumba to the Murray Valley. This is another new road for me, but another popular route over the Snowy Mountains. Head along River Rd (rather than the Valley Hwy) and through Granya Gap. From there, head to Whitfield and hopefully Mansfield for the evening.

Attack the Eildon-Jamieson Rd after breakfast on day three. Then down the Spur to Healesville. South from there to my weekend accommodation. Looking at perhaps Warragul, Wonthaggi or possibly Inverloch. The location gives me a head start for the return trip and should be even closer to the island than last time when I stayed in Narre Warren. This will be a hotel/motel stay and is a big chunk of the budget.

Race days – Saturday and Sunday. Hopefully set myself up with some food on Friday evening so I don’t have to buy ALL my food at the track.

Planning for the return is less advanced. But equally, I don’t plan to change much from last time. Something like wherever I’m staying to Khancoban/Corryong. Almost certainly through Mitta Mitta. From there I will head to Jindabyne then a little detour to Dalgety and Maffra before Cooma and the looooong slog to Canberra. Stay there one night. Or over the Snowy’s on my other road to Kiandra and Adaminaby and then through the dirt to Canberra.

The final day, as suggested above, out through Nerriga to the coast and probably up Kangaroo Valley to home.

With the route roughly in mind, I can check out campgrounds and fuel locations. Not everywhere has fuel, Wee Jasper for example, has none. But that section, from Canberra to Tumut, is only 140km or so, easily completed on a single tank, even if I get to Wee Jasper and change my mind.

I’m excited.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to ride my motorbike and if I ever find the time, to play computer games. This blog started out as just WoW, but has moved onto a whole lot of different things.

Leave a comment