Prac Week 1

So the first week of my first practical placement ends tomorrow. I’ve been placed in a year 3 class. A whole class of interesting personalities! While due to whole school activities I haven’t actually seen much teaching in action I have certainly seen classroom management and behavioural management in action.

I am enjoying it which is the first hurdle over. I think I’m on the right track in my career change choice which is another plus. I can see a lot of work and a lot of love for not great pay. The school has a pretty good feeling about it. There are about 6 other prac students there, all in their last prac.

I’ve taken a group for some remediation maths which was hopefully somewhat successful but was sure hard work. I have to take 4 lessons next week which will be very eye opening I’m sure. It’s a lot easier to know what level to pitch at now that I’ve met the kids. But knowing the kids it’s also more of a challenge as I now know some of thier attention spans and capabilities.

Overall it’s been positive so far. Ask me next week after I’ve actually “taught” the class.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

