Post Track Day

It didn’t go how I expected at all. There weather was warm but fine, if a little windy. I didn’t crash and that was an excellent result. I also made it up to 195kmh and I am confident that the bike could go a lot faster, I wasn’t very good at fully opening the throttle as quick as I could. 

But I hated it. 

I was terrified the whole time. Not so much about the possibility of crashing or even of getting hurt so much. 

I think I was terrified that my bike would be damaged. 

I felt a lot of pressure from the other riders and I know that was only perceived pressure, not actual pressure and that didn’t help. 

I kind of feel that it was a combination of all of the things I don’t like about group rides and the only positive was the lack of things to run into. 

There were a couple of small niggles about my bike that could have been hurting my confidence, but if it had been a ride out the Putty or something they wouldn’t have bothered me so I don’t think they were a big factor, certainly apart from a single moment in one turn the bike was flawless. 

But coming down the main straight at 190kmh looking at the turn that others were taking at probably 180kmh I was terrified, slowing ages before the turn to I guess something like 100kmh. 

It’s even got me to the point that I am considering changing bikes – getting a VFR or something rather than having a supersport. I do miss the VFR terribly (yes silly I know, it’s just a bike). 

Do I try a track day again? I’m not sure. If I did I would want to fix those couple of things and they’re easy fixes. 

See how we go. 

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

