More Old School

So the kids were a bit bored this evening and trying to invent a game. I thought that it might be the perfect time to break another game about imagination.


Look familiar to anyone.

So we rolled a couple of characters. They both picked clerics and we got started with the dungeon in the red book.

They made it through a couple of encounters and are keen to keep going. Killed a bunch of creatures and found some treasure. Sadly tonight bedtime intervened but we have another free day tomorrow so I hope to carry on.

I also mentioned how easy it would be to bring this game on any travelling that we do. Was that too obvious?

I need to study up because I am super rusty at how it works. Also is it too early to rush out and buy the latest Players Handbook and DM guide?

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

6 thoughts on “More Old School”

  1. I think the old school is probably the easier. Reminded me of first seeing a monster manual (hardback) for the first time, a veeeeeery long time ago. Did you know that Charlie Stross (author) was responsible for some of the creatures (slaad iirc) in that or the fiend folio?

    1. I only ever had a late printing of the 1st edition AD&D players handbook. I played mostly BattleTech after that. I do remember the loose leaf and other 2nd edition being released but never used it. I’ll stick with this basic set for now, at least until they have an adventure or two under their belt.

    1. I found the new Starter Set, so I’ve picked that up. Will let them get a couple of adventures under their belts and then we can move up. The full manuals are over $60 each here. I can get the PHB, DM and MM from Amazon delivered for half that, even with our low dollar the last couple of years. Ridiculous!

      I’ve not played since 1st edition, but I do hear that the new 5th edition is pretty solid. I also see they have a bunch of stuff on their website nowadays.

      I have this old Red basic set, all the way up to Immortals and a couple of adventures as well. The new starter set also came with an adventure too. Plenty to work with šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

