First Commute

Wednesday I decided would be the best day to try commuting on the bicycle for the first time. I got everything set the night before and bright and early – 0550, I rolled out of the driveway headed for the station, about 12km away.

First impressions – the days are getting shorter and at this time I’m going to need lights to see as well as lights to attract attention (which I did have). It was cool (perhaps about 17C) and I wonder how it would be in winter…

But lots of cycle paths to follow almost the whole way to the station so actually really safe.

I arrived at the station, probably a few minutes after an earlier train departed (I was well ahead of schedule) and about 30mins before the train I planned was due out. Feeling good so far, I decided to ride on and see how it went.

I arrived at the other end of my train journey about 5mins after the train would have arrived. So I covered in about an hour what the train would have taken 30mins. Not too bad.

The last couple of kms to work was pretty tough though as I didn’t have much energy left (must eat breakfast next time!) and 2hours and 40km later I arrived at the office, tired but impressed.

So there’s the next tip – eat first. Also there were a few less cycle paths on this leg.

The day was a hot one, bitting 38C before it was home time. I decided to ride as intended all the way home.

It was really hot, there was more traffic and more wind. It was tough and when I was several kms away from any station, it was too late to realise I should have trained it.

Mrs called about every 30mins or so to check on me – she was understandably concerned but I was actually going ok. Slower than the morning, but ok.

And I was certainly slower. Stopped several times for a rest, and just a slower pace (avg 15kmh, not 20kmh I had done in the morning) meant that it took over 2.5hours.

More tips – hot days, train halfway home, ride the last 12km until I’m more used to it. If its cooler, maybe you can ride the whole way.

Oh, and I must find a new inner sole to replace the one I lost a while back in one of my shoes.

Overall, nearly 75km in one day. Almost 5hours of riding. And a good recovery.

Things to fix/improve

  • lights for the morning (sorted)
  • new inner sole (sorted)
  • eat breakfast first (and maybe freeze a water??)
  • don’t be stubborn and use the train if its really hot
  • armband or something to hold my Opal card and ID card (to get into work)

Oh, and my Opal card has arrived.

 

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

2 thoughts on “First Commute”

  1. Hey Mab, its Xyn from frosties.

    I started cycling to work a few years ago and loved it (only live a 10 min walk from work now so i just walk).

    Anyhow, if you aren’t using some sort of clipless pedal system, can I say that there is no bigger difference you will make to your ride than that. I used a pedal that i could wear normal shoes with as well,
    http://www.99bikes.com.au/pedal-shimano-m647

    and just a get a cheap pair of shimano cycling shoes to go with.

    I convinced my mrs to use give them a go, and she has never had a stack. Mine were only caused because i didn’t loosen the locking mechanism enough.

    Enjoy the riding!

    1. Hey Xyn. Yeah I use clipless. I’ve used them on the mountain bike for a while, so the transition was easy. (but yes, make sure you adjust new ones so they’re not so tight the first time – let’s just say it was embarrassing, lol).

      I actually got pedals that have clipless on one side and flats on the other. Similar to the ones you listed, but more half and half.

      I just use my MTB shoes.

Leave a Reply

