Local Knowledge

Pretty much every Friday last year I would ride the back roads from Canberra to Maralun, and sometimes on Sundays as well. I got to know the road really well, knowing which corners were tight, or had other things to be aware of, where traffic generally came from, where I might find stock crossing the road, etc, etc.

I’m sure most of you have roads like that, even if its the city blocks of your daily commute.

A few weekends ago there was a terrible crash – a bus carrying a bunch of people from work (I didn’t know them) rolled and there were some serious injuries. I learned about it when I saw the news. The road name sounded familiar (I’m terrible with road names, and peoples…. but I can remember every person’s motorbike) and when I saw the crash scene I knew exactly where it was.

It was one of the few corners that you really have to pay attention, even on the bike. It’s not super tight, the main problem is that the road surface is terribly uneven (even for a back country road) and there is no verge. On the outside there is a culvert and a drain that has eaten away so there is a short but steep slope from the edge of the seal. On the bike, it’s something to be mindful of, but not super concerning.

I rode out to the crash site later to confirm to myself where it was.

The bus obviously realised he was going too fast for the turn, braked, but drifted wide and the steep verge tipped it over. It returned to the road, but on its side and slid to a halt. Horrible.

I’m not entirely sure why the group of buses headed that way, it’s a back road after all, but taking it easy where you don’t have local knowledge is something to keep in mind.

Of course even that can’t help a wayward kangaroo…..

IMG_0181

IMG_0175
Here is where it ended up facing to the left of the picture on its left side. One wheel track seems to have stayed on the road and the other goes off into the grass ditch to the right of the picture. If you can see the double lines of tyre marks leading down the road to the left, that’s from the bus in front stopping to help.
Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

