Sliders

Frame Sliders. The parts that I ordered for the Daytona was the Triumph Frame Protection Kit. After watching a stack of videos over the years its obvious that sliders are a great addition. They won’t help every time (they may have helped in the  VFR crash) but maybe they are the difference between being stranded and riding a damaged bike home.

Usually they look like this.

rgsliders650r

See the large doorstop thing poking out the side. Ugly, but effective.

Now look at the Daytona ones from Triumph….
mh0TSlEY0ew1ZVFLncjGCRg

Look like part of the bike don’t they. (The black piece just beside the word DAYTONA)ar-13675-gp2r-3

This picture from the other month shows my bike without them (right hand bike) and the other one with them. No ugly doorstops here.

IMG_2929

The guys at the shop warned me it would be fine to do myself, but it was an annoying job. So I decided to give it a go. I’ve been a bit braver about taking this bike apart than i ever did with the VFR. Not sure why.

So I unboxed the kit this afternoon and got started. Plus, I figured if I do it myself I will be more confident with the bike and I can give the internals a proper clean

So at the moment after some tribulations (vague instructions in the user manual mostly) I have the bike in pieces in my garage. Turns out I need a Torx (the star shaped screwdriver) of about T40?? perhaps to get one of the bolts out which I don’t have. I’ll head around to Bunnings tomorrow and pick one up. I’ll take the bolt so I can be sure.

IMG_0058
Still looks pretty good doesn’t she!

IMG_0059Decided to make a video of the process, as I couldn’t find anything related in YouTube. So that will be up in a week or two I hope. Lots of little edits to do. There’s several bloggers with Daytona’s, some walk-arounds and plenty of reviews, but nothing that shows how to take the bike apart. I hope to finish tomorrow night so that I can ride again on Thursday. let’s hope I remember how it all goes back.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

