Why are they all Ninjas??

Been browsing the motorcycle For Sale as I ponder a possible second bike again. I’d like to pose this question to Kawasaki.

“Why are so many of your model’s called Ninja?”

Off the top of my head we have

  • H2 / H2R
  • ZX-14R
  • ZX-12R
  • ZX-10R
  • ZX-7R
  • ZX-6R
  • ZX-2R
  • Z1000
  • Z800 / Z750
  • Ninja 300 / 250

Seriously, this a sport orientated list, but some of these are very different bikes. Let’s compare with Honda

  • Fireblade = CBR1000RR (I’ve never heard the 600RR called this?)
  • Firestorm = VTR1000R, SP-1, SP-2 (also known as Superhawk I think)
  • Interceptor = VFR800
  • Cross Tourer = VFR1200X
  • etc, etc.

With a Honda, there’s no confusion, but I asked someone which bike they rode and they said a “Ninja”, it could mean anything. Normally I would expect them to mean the ZX-10R, possibly the -6R, but it could be the supercharged H2R or the learners 300!

Now they don’t call all their bikes Ninjas, we have Vulcans and Versys and others. But their whole street/sport (not cruiser or dual sport or dirt bike range) are called Ninja.

Imagine Nissan called all their 4WDs the Patrol, not the Patrol, the Murano, the Pathfinder, the X-Trail, the Qashqui, and the Dualis! You can see how confusing that is.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

