MTB – Sparrow Hill Solo

I got out into Sparrow Hill again Thursday afternoon. It was a pretty warm day, but nice under the cover of the forest. I have printed out a rough map of the trails and decided to explore some different ones from Tuesday.

These are far smoother and much better trails than I have ever ridden before. It's really fun on these.
These are far smoother and much better trails than I have ever ridden before. It’s really fun on these.

I spent about 90 mins riding, and most of that was on trails. Eventually I had run out of steam and the next time I hit a fire road I turned for the carpark instead of following the trail.

This road didn’t head where I thought it did and after wandering along several more fire roads I eventually matched the map and the terrain to figure out where I was.

A last dash down a trail to the carpark and I was done.

This time I remembered to turn Strava on, but forgot to turn it off. So it tracked my whole drive home as well.

The bike needed a lie down, so it forced me to take a break.
The bike needed a lie down, so it forced me to take a break.

It was a lot of fun and my confidence is growing. I will improve as I start to learn the trails (like where the small drop offs are – eep!). I look forward to more rides in the coming weeks.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

