MTB – My first time in Sparrow Hill

I will admit to an advantage in having the car here – I can carry my mountain bike out to the proper bike trails and not struggle around the rough fire trails near my home.

Dad was also visiting so I brought the other cycle down from Sydney. Dad is a keen MTBer and rides every day in the forests near his place, which is a few minutes cycle from some of the best trails in the whole country. He gets to do them every day.

Anyway, we headed out. I was hoping to pick up some tips and see if these trails were any good. And if they would be any good to learn on.

We headed out to Sparrow Hill. I rode my Trance and Dad was stuck with my hardtail Boulder, a big change from his usual $XX,XXX cycles. I hoped it would keep him slow enough for me to keep up.

And mostly I think it did.

We were out there for more than an hour. The trails were very smooth and look good to learn on. They’re also really close to work so I can take the bike to work and then ride straight after.

Dad saw some kangaroos (I wanted to run them over in revenge, lol) and we also saw a snake (about 1m long, but no idea what snake). Dad gave me some tips and I did start to get some basic hang of it.

Several moments though were I was certain I was going to hit a tree or come off over a rock kept me alert.

I will surely be out there again, at least while I have a car here.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

