Post crash update

Okay so it’s almost a week since I decided to closely inspect the road surface at high speed. I have had a plastic surgeon stitch up my wound. Then I was discharged from Canberra and finally got home to my family on Friday evening.

All seems to be healing well but it will be a while. I’ve had suggestions of anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks before I can even drive let alone swing a leg over the Daytona. So work will be frustrated but not more than me.

I do really want to ride again and there isn’t anything to stop me. Even Mrs Mab is happy for me to keep riding. The only thing that might stop me is me.

The docs have suggested that I may not yet have dealt with the whole event and I expect that’s true. But to what extant I need to deal with anything you never know.

So I might swing that leg over and be too nervous to roll out of the garage. At this time I don’t see that – I can certainly think through some rides and all I feel is the urge to get out there.

I expect I will also mourn my VFR at some point. Sure it’s only a bike to some but it was a big part of me for a long time and many miles. And I am going to miss it.

So all is as well as it can be and I look forward to what the future holds. Thanks again to all the support from here and elsewhere.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

2 thoughts on “Post crash update”

  1. Mrs Mab is made of sterner stuff than I am. If my husband hit our equivalent of a kangaroo (deer) I’d be hiding his license. I’m glad to hear you’re on the mend and sorry about your bike. You do get attached to them. When I finally quit riding and sold mine to a friend’s son it was on the condition that if something happened to the bike they did not tell me. I wanted to imagine it as it was forever.

Leave a Reply

