Nothing Pressing

So I’m at home with the Daytona, no kids, and a beautiful sunny Tuesday … What to do? Double demerits finished last night too … I even had my full leathers! You can see where this is going can’t you.

It’s going to the Putty Rd of course.

I dropped the girls at daycare (it’s paid for whether we use it or not, so may as well use it – gives us a chance to catch our breath sometimes – besides it’s only one day this week) and was quickly on the road. 8am found me already north of Wilberforce and heading north.

There was a chill in the air to start with even fog near Windsor but it was clear and headed to a top around 25 so I was happy it would warm up.

Not much seemed to have changed up the road since my last visit. I did slow for a moment of thought where a rider was killed a month ago near Colo. A late pass attempt by a learner ended in tragedy on a short straight and was witnessed by a fellow vlogger.

After that the road climbed away and I passed some traffic and was soon pulling into Grey Gums for a pie. Chatting to the staff she was worn out by the Easter travelers. But she commented that they can always tell when it’s double demerits as the bikes don’t come by. Being the only bike there I couldn’t disagree with her. In fact I hadn’t seen any bikes all the way here.

20140426-114618.jpg

As I ate my pie a couple did ride past.

I turned north to get to Ten Mile Putty. I was thinking of getting fuel at Broke and doing some laps but I did have a whole bunch of garden work I needed to do so I wasn’t sure what I would do.

Anyway I hit the Ten Mile and I think I’ve improved. Been studying the Twist of the Wrist over the past few months and I think it has helped. The book is very well known and the ideas behind it are well grounded. They don’t always apply on the road however even when they aren’t directly applicable they still give you a great understanding of how the whole bike works. And a great understanding of how you can instinctively do the wrong thing unless you practice.

So I’ve been consciously applying his techniques to my riding and if nothing else my confidence has grown. I had a couple of moments but lessons like Don’t Chop the Throttle and Keep a Relaxed Grip on the Handlebars meant they weren’t more than moments.

At the top of the Putty I was accelerating for Broke when I figured that I have the gas to turn around and going all the way to Broke and back to here would add 45mins to an hour.

I found a wide spot and u-turned. The other thing I realized was that the road was still fresh in my mind and I was still in the right mindset.

So south I went. I’m really starting to enjoy the Ten Mile… There’s that confidence growing again. Had a great ride homewards with a few stretches where I just cruised along managing my fatigue which was starting to hit me a little.

Didn’t see any cops the whole way around which was a huge surprise. I did see some once I got back on the freeways going home and saw about five in twenty minutes. Guess they were reminding the commuters to behave after a weekend of keeping the interstates under control.

I made I fuel at Colo Heights just as the fuel light came on. Still 2 bars on the gauge so another 50km or so. If I fuel at Colo on the way up I could do a couple of laps at Ten Mile and still make it back to Colo. Again, saving me the leg to Broke.

Then it was home where a whole bunch of gardening was waiting, yay!

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

