K.I.S.S

Well after a non-stop drive down to Canberra, I’m finally in my place here… and probably should head to bed very soon.

I spent the afternoon building desks and unpacking, connecting computers, after carrying all of it upstairs. I then spent some time trying to work out why the internet wasn’t working. About 1930 I logged a job on the service desk and waited…

and waited…

and waited…

and waited…

I was just about to turn in for the night (about 2130) when the Tech Support guy rang me back. He was very helpful and we eventually established that the phone jack in the room I have set up as a study, isn’t connected to the phone line in the house.

So now I have the modem in one room, wifi to the iMac here and the server with my iTunes library and Time Machine backup is currently off the network (no wifi card in it).

I see several choices.

  • move rooms (means dismantling both desks and beds and swapping them, then putting them together again and setting it all up….. ugh). Though having the ensuite in my study sounds kinda cool.
  • get a tech in to look at patching the port in the study (I don’t think that would be cheap…)
  • some sort of complicated multiple router setup, I could do it easy enough, and I think I wouldn’t even have to buy anything, but I’d still have wifi to the internet.
  • What about a crossover cable to the server? Or is the iMac port smart enough to switch over itself. Of course that works until the new computer and PlayStation get set up here as well, grrrr…

Hmm, maybe I should just measure how long the phone cable needs to be to reach from that room to this one … heads off to start counting paces around the house.

Remember the principle – Keep it Simple, stupid.

 

 

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

