Time to Study Up

WoWScrnShot_122713_235309Okay, so I’ve been back a month and things are bumbling along quite nicely. I’m at about 88 and 1/2. But after a few runs in 5mans, I’ve noticed that my damage, while not low, is a significant step below others in my run. Of course, there are all of the gear factors and that some in the runs are different levels. However it is a consistent step behind. I realised that I am likely missing some steps in my rotations – I am playing the same rotation that I was using in probably about WotLK. As a solo quester, it didn’t really matter too much as long as I lived.

So time for some study…. but where to look. I checked through much of my blogroll and couldn’t really find Enhancement Shaman. An initial look at WoW Insider (Totem Talk) and there was screens of Resto articles.

A little more digging and I found some details. Then this morning I was updating Flipboard with the blogrolls and stumbled across World of Saz. Now I’ve had her blog bookmarked for a couple of years, but only at the 15 Days of Screenshots challenge page. This time I read the header… Shaman, Guides. And it became quickly evident, she was a long time Enhancement Shaman player! And she had put together some very thorough guides on the spec.

So after some reading I am not surprised that I have been running my Shaman all wrong. No really, not just a little bit, but almost all of my rotation needs to be changed. A big one is the working of Fire Shock. I’m still sort of stuck in the mindset of about 4 years ago, when it was kinda nice to have a DoT, but not really used. Now, it’s about the core of what my rotation needs to be.

But it’s not just the rotation. Some of the changes that were made just as MoP launched (you know, when they redid the entire Talent System etc) haven’t sunk in. Things like the Fire Elemental, he’s no longer a 20min cool down, down to 5mins. That means you can bring him out much more often. Which I have been, but not as much as I could.

Other changes I was working around, like my laziness in dropping Totems. Ever since they eliminated the mass drop spell, Call of Elements (and Ancestors and Spirits) I’ve generally only used my fire totems to add damage. I haven’t really needed the others during questing. In fact in most single quest mob fights I don’t bother with one at all.

So I need to sit down and restructure my keybinds for a start, across the keyboard and the Naga. I’ll then need to get a lot of practice in – well that’s what the next 1.5 levels are for. It will take some time to break the old habits, but I think if I can get the keybinds setup right it should work out.

And then I hope that the missing damage step will not be quite as large.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

