Shado-Pan Monastery

WoWScrnShot_122613_181458

I had a few hours on my own this Boxing Day, with the girls out with friends. So another chance to hit up some LFD. By hitting 88 I had opened up a couple more dungeons, and after about a quarter of an hour, Shado-Pan Monastery popped up.

It was obvious from the first trash mobs that it wasn’t going to be as smooth sailing as the other runs, these guys were tougher than the other two dungeons. Being my first time and it being tougher, screenshots were few and far between

Gu Cloudstrike, the first boss, and the only fail I had was not realising I had to switch to DPSing the Serpant. I did figure it out and switched targets. I picked up a great chest piece off him.

Next up Master Snowdrift.

WoWScrnShot_122613_174138After fighting some acolytes, it wasn’t too bad, just annoying chansing the boss all over the room.

Next we headed to the Sha of Violence. Someone decided we should run past the mobs – that just brought the lot of them into the next building on our tail. Death quickly followed.

I did get a little lost at this point, trying to get from the entrance back to where we where. Turns out I kept going out the wrong door – I had assumed the doorway behind me led out of the dungeon.

The Sha was just a DPS slugfest, only having to dodge it’s spikes occasionally.

WoWScrnShot_122613_180304Last boss, Taran Zhu proved much tougher. I think we were probably well geared, but not highly geared to fight him. I also think (myself included) not all of us were familiar with the fight. The hate bar wasn’t so much of a problem as the Gripping Spheres were. I certainly didn’t understand the implications of them until in between the 2nd and 3rd attempts I read up on it.

The third attempt, although long, wasn’t too much trouble. I focused on the spheres whenever I saw one. We still got grabbed a few times, but not to the extent of the previous attempts. Eventually (and it did seem like eventually) we ground him down.

So achieve for the run and two more gear pickups from the quests. Happy with that. Also pushed my xp bar about a third on to 89.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

