Bike and Tech decisions…

Nothing much has happened this week in any of my usual subjects. With Mrs working the weekend, there weren’t any rides on, and with the Daytona tucked in the garage I probably would have done something else anyway.

I have been quizzing all kinds of people about the benefits of getting the VFR suspension serviced, tuned to my weight/riding and perhaps upgraded. I’ve no doubts that it needs a service (never been serviced!!) and that the ride would benefit from it. However the full treatment is about 50% or more of the remaining value of the bike, so from a cost perspective its pretty high. On the other hand, I really expect to keep it for a long time, and there is a good chance that it will be travelling from Canberra to Sydney frequently come my job change in 2014 so to help the bike safely and happily do another 100,000km it might be worth it.

On the tech side, I haven’t really sat down to play Borderlands either. I’m keen to, but have had kids and other stuff in the way. I might get into it shortly as I just put the kids to sleep.

The NAS has been running trouble free (bet I just jinxed it) for 30 days now. I’m really happy with the results, but I’m planning to reduce its power saving somewhat as I am finding the lag in response a little more than I want. Other than that…. been a great addition.

On another tech note, I am pondering what to do next year if I end up living separate from my family. I don’t plan to take either computer from home, but equally I don’t think just an iPad is going to cut it either.

I see 3 choices. First, find a second hand 27″ iMac. Second, get a Mac Mini and extras. Last option is to build a small footprint PC (like in a mini tower case or the like).

I’m leaning towards the last option. Slightly more expensive than the Mini, but probably on par with the second hand iMac prices. The big advantage is gaming. I have several games I could easily spend my weeknights playing and of them, at least 3 are PC only and the others are Mac or PC. Not worried about music or movies, as iTunes is Mac or PC as well. Besides, the whole lot are MP3 or MP4 anyway so the Windows player or VLC or the like will work fine too.

I think I lose out in ability to edit movies for YouTube, but I’m sure I can find something. Or leave those until I return home.

Any thoughts out in the wild there??

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

