Boom & Bewm… and Boom & Bewm … and… omg

Boom & Bewm, the repeating boss.
Boom & Bewm, the repeating boss.

Played a couple more hours of Borderlands 2. Still enjoying it, but I’ve found one thing that is REALLY annoying – the save method.

There are save points along the game. Activating them gives you the little saving icon. If you die, then you are revived (for an increasing cost! I liked that idea) at those save points. Cool so far (and dead guys stay dead too)

If you exit the game, you get returned to a much earlier save point (these are Fast Travel points – kinda like the wyvern flight paths in WoW) and all the bad guys, including bosses are ALIVE again.

Yes, you have to work your way back through them in order to get back to where you were. This could be a game breaker for me.

If I push ahead for an hour, killing, dying etc, then have to quit because to be honest a solid hour is about all I can scrape together many days. To quit and be RIGHT BACK WHERE I WAS the night before and have to spend the next hour working through it again, only to have to call it a night. And have gotten no further in the game is killing the enjoyment.

Do you see how that could get frustrating, very quickly. Especially as I assume this early game is a lot more linear than later game sequences. It’s not like I can go off and do anything else.

I suppose some consolation is that these save games do not reset your stats as well as your location and the enemy. So any level ups, gear changes, scores etc are kept. This should, over time, allow me to make my way through this more easily. But that’s a pretty slow way to do it. And I’ve beaten those bosses, not fair I have to run them through again.

Am I missing something about these saves?

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

