Choking on Electronic Dust

I’ve dusted off a seven year old toon in order to find something to play on this gorgeous iMac screen. Pretty obviously from the screenshot, it’s not WoW, the toon is in Eve.

2013.05.28.19.17.25

I had a couple of goes at Eve over the past few years, but never subscribed. The main reason for not spending time in the game is that I didn’t really have time to learn it, with RL and WoW as well. As you know, WoW is not about anymore.

Looking about for something to play I discovered that (several years ago) they released a Mac client for Eve. So I’ve downloaded it and it looks pretty great on the 27″ screen. So I’ve logged in to find lots has changed… I think… Having played for a total of about 2 hours in that seven years, my memories are pretty hopeless. However I don’t remember seeing a toon, only ships. You can now get out of your ship and stand in your “office” but I can’t see any use to that. Decoration I think.

Anyway I found a couple of ships in my hanger, a lot of skills to train and almost no inventory. I can’t seem to get the tutorials reset so I’ll have to chat to the pros at work to get some tips.

I have managed to get out of the station and fly about a bit. No autopilot or warping, and no shooting yet. I think I have to find some missions or a corp to join up with to get things moving. I did find out how the screenshots work (and where they get stored on the Mac), so I can document my progress.

I’ve heard Eve is pretty unforgiving, so I will have to keep my wits about me.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

