Denied Again???

SONY DSCI’m starting to think that going for a fun ride on this bike is jinxed! Another free Saturday rolls up and I head out. Actually got the bike out of the garage. As I did I noticed some flecks of white on the side of it. This is important later. I figured that I ridden through something on the way home on Friday and wiped most of it off.

So I rode off towards the city limits deciding that I probably should have worn more of a windbreaker than a fleece under my riding gear, it was pretty fresh.

I stopped for petrol at the edge of town, at almost the acknowledged start of the ride I was headed on. Filled up and was about to ride off when I noticed that the white stuff was back. It was like someone had a small white paint spray all along the side of the bike. This was worrying as I was certain I hadn’t even ridden through a puddle let alone anything else on the way there.

I rolled the bike up to a carpark away from the pumps and had a closer look. There was nothing showing up behind the front wheel, where if I ridden through something it should be covered. It was only on one side and only from the radiator back. I grabbed a tissue to wipe it off, with the thought that I would ride on a bit and see if it came back again.

I wiped a few obvious areas, to make it easy to check. The tissue came away wet and with a tinge of green.

That’s when my blood went cold. The only fluid I was sure was green on a bike is the coolant, and the spray was only from the radiator back. Then I recalled thinking that the bike water temp display was quite high on the freeway for such a fresh morning. I put it down to being still unfamiliar with the bike. Now, I was fairly certain I had a small coolant leak.

I’ve ridden a bike before with a serious leak and the temps rocket up. This time they hadn’t and with the small amount sprayed across the side, it couldn’t be too big. I also knew the bike hadn’t overheated so nothing was hurt.

But no ride today.

I headed home when I remembered that the workshop at the dealer that I bought it was open Saturday’s for a few hours. I changed plan slightly to swing by there and get them to look at it.

I made it without incident and they had a look. They would even be able to look into it if I could hang around for about 90 mins. Hey I’d already planned to be away all day, and this stage it was looking like I’d be home by 10am.

The bike is fixed and at no cost (warranty). I had a chance to take it out again, but I’ll certainly be keeping an eye on it.

Next Saturday I’m busy and the one after too. Maybe the next one???

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

4 thoughts on “Denied Again???”

  1. Yikes, glad it wasn’t a bad one, and fingers crossed you don’t have any more issues and do get to go for that nice long ride. The Daytona is a gorgeous bike. 🙂

    1. Thanks Andrew, I’m very happy with my decision to get the Daytona. I’m busy the next couple of weekends but hopefully the one after will work out for me.

Leave a Reply

