MWO Beta Week 2

The game continues to excite me. It’s tough and can be a frenzy of weapons fire and mechs around the place.

Or it can be long range fire at distant specks, though this is not so common.

They’ve added a new mech, the Awesome, an Assault that I haven’t played yet. I’ve been concentrating on the Jenner and a Catapult as a second option. One of the nice things is that when a mech is killed in a match (there is no respawn) you can leave that game and start another whilst the first is resolved without you. You still receive your xp and bonuses as if you hung about. Alternatively you can spectate from others mechs, but you can’t even chat at this point. (if you had external team voice comms, you could keep talking)

Another addition in the latest is an AMS (anti missile system) slot to every mech. I’ve added these (with a lot of ammo!!) to both of my main mechs and its helped a lot. I hope to see the Raven, or at least the ECM developed as well as that will be a boon to my Jenner as a scout. The AMS is a way of reducing the damage from LRM fire (which is pretty brutal if they keep lock) but its very ammo hungry! ECM should make it harder to lock, or even harder for them to spot me, allowing me to scout them out better.

I played to mostly loses over the week. I did get two kills in one match though. I was running my Catapult and with the main force engaged I was able to maintain a steady lock to rain LRMs into the fray. A solid kill on a Centurion I think. I never saw it as it was behind a hill the whole time (LRM fire follows a sort of ballistic trajectory arching up and over many obstacles). When my ammo ran dry soon after (I gave another couple of mechs a good pounding after the kill) I moved in to assault mode. AMS was very busy during this fight, I could hear it ripping away almost constantly.

I spent most of the rest of the match taking pot shots and evading an Atlas who had taken a liking to me. Eventually he was the last left on his team and we had about 3 guys left. 3 on 1, but the kill shot was mine 🙂

I’m working on getting into some groups to start to hone my skills as a scout properly. Hopefully this coming week will see that work out.

I also logged into the Testers Teamspeak and listened in for a while. They talked a lot about World of Tanks, a similar game based around WWII tanks. One of the biggest differences between them is that in MWO even the smallest mech can be a threat to the biggest, whereas the smallest tanks cannot even penetrate the bigger ones in WoT. In MWO a Jenner (35T) can kill an Atlas (100T), but you have to work at it.

Week two… love it.

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

