Why not alt?

Through a range of links I ended up reading this page on the subject of alts and wanted to put forward my position.

Ever since the early years of my WoW life I have had a few alts. Most came up for one reason – storage space. It was a cheap way (gold was a scarce item in my early days) to get bank space and store the herbs, cloth and other junk I thought might be useful.

Pumatay was levelled slowly as it meant I could run about Azeroth without the guild knowing (long before Real ID). Why did I want to do that? Well sometimes you just need time alone. Though eventually Puma became a Frostie as well. He also gave me a chance to play a few areas (the troll/orc start area for example) that I hadn’t seen, and to try tanking, which I enjoyed.

Dasal came from trying to get my Mrs involved. It meant I could play along with her at her level and also gave a leg up with LFG as we brought DPS (her mage) and Heals to each run. Eventually she lost interest, but I found myself enjoying the job of heals, and later the challenge to do something that for me was inconceivable – to have TWO level cap toons!

I’ve also commented in an earlier post that I prefer to play alts rather than try to play Mabaho in a different style. That’s partly because of the attachment that Fannon talks about, it’s not Mabaho’s personality. It’s also my slow old brain wants to rush in and start bashing heads (Mabaho runs Enhance, which is melee DPS) whenever I’ve tried Resto or Ele spec.

So with Dasal I have the opposite effect, Dasal has on occasion tried to zap stuff to death, as Holy or Shadow and I get totally frustrated trying to do that as I have no idea of the rotation and she’s so hopeless at it. This is made worse if I’ve just been playing Mab who knocks most mobs over in a few hits.

What would I do if there were no alts, Sylvara challenges us. I’d be a bit stuck to be honest. My heavily irregular often interrupted gaming means that anything that depends on others or others depending upon me (like a regular raid slot) is out of reach. And this is the crux of the matter …

I like to play alts to see new parts of the game during the times when I can’t experience the new parts that require a group.

Another Alt - Mabango - Races across Tanaris on some wacky goblin rocket!
Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

