Respect

I wrote the title as I was planning to talk a bit on my decision to join in a actually try and get most of a world event. I have almost completed Brewfest (I actually picked up a Wolpentiger when you had to complete the quest for it) and have the Noble title, but yesterday I got stuck into the current Lunar Festival one, mostly to grab the lantern (maybe deep down I am a pet collector???). So “Respect” for paying respects to the elders that we visit. I was a bit frustrated to see that there was one in Wintergrasp that you can’t get to unless your faction owns the zone. I did pick it up today so it wasn’t too hard, but I was thinking back to WotLK when on many servers one side or the other hardly wins the zone.

Of course these days, with no one playing it, one person can go around and knock over the zone unopposed.

The title inspired me to have a small whinge about LFD. I would probably include LFR but I’ve never used it as none of my toons are high enough iLevel.

I will readily admit that as a solo casual player LFD has been a huge change in my ability to get gear, get 5mans done etc etc, and it is a lot faster than sitting about in /5 LFG channel spamming Enh Shaman LFG for Mara etc for 30 mins. And I know a lot of the PvPers have since enjoyed better queue time from the cross realm stuff.

But I do miss the bumping into the same people as you level up, and getting to know the different guilds and people on your own server. I know others have spoken about it much similar vein. I don’t think we should go back though. Maybe a fix could be to sort groups so that each was primarily made up of your own server and only filled in the blanks.

Okay, enough deep thought. Mab has the lantern now. I still need to do Cata and Dungeons for the title. Might get that done this year….we’ll see.

 

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

