Happy Holidays

Well I haven’t been playing SWTOR at all. The early access has finished and my copy hasn’t turned up yet, so stuck until it does. Even then, I am pretty certain I will skip it and sell my CE. Just not interested.

Equally I haven’t really been playing WoW either. Miss 4 has, she’s even figured out how to accept, then sometimes with help, complete the quest and figured out how to hand it in all by herself. It started with when she figured the Horde Ballon quest out by herself (so now all of my toons have the balloon!). I’ve only helped her a little with the actual getting the quest done. Amazing.

So I have been playing is Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Yes I know MW3 has just been released, but OSX, MW1 is the latest native version. Been fun so far running through the single player campaign. Death is a bit of a non event though. Saves are frequent so you just respawn without much loss. Subsequently after only a week or so, I’ve finished the SP missions.

My problems getting to play SWTOR, my wish to continue some old school games that have been gathering dust, and my normal tinkering means that over the past day or say I’ve Bootcamped my iMac. Which is a tricky Apple way of saying it now dual boots OSX and Windows 7. As its a Apple supported setup they provide all the correct drivers for all of the internals especially the odd stuff like the bluetooth and the IR receiver (for the remote control).

Now the challenge was that because this Mac is nearly a year old the drive was a bit messy and it couldn’t make 100GB of contiguous space to create the Windows partition.

So yesterday I bit the bullet and decided to see how well Time Machine really works. The only way to resolve the impasse and get this box dual booting was to wipe it, reinstall the OS and restore from Time Machine.

And as you can see, by the fact that 24hours later I’ve got time to blog rather than trying to reinstall everything, that it worked. It took time (about 4hours to restore) but its all here. Now I am very very impressed with Time Machine (I was already very impressed).

And Windows 7 has its own little portion of the disk. So now what to play……. Hmmm Steam sales are on???

Author: Mabaho

I'm a married dad who likes to play WoW and ride my motorbike. Originally a strong focus WoW blog, but over the last while has become a more general blog about things going on in my world.

Leave a Reply

