Weak spot in the clouds

I loitered in Sydney for an extra day so that the VFR could get a service. The folks at Western’s finished up just before lunch and I hit the road suffering through a warm sunny day. Trading some fun for time, I stayed on the freeway until Golden Vale Rd, enjoying the fresh, just serviced feeling of the VFR (It had really been feeling like it needed a service this time) and a new chain and sprockets.

I stopped as I exited the interstate for a drink and to set up the Action Cam. As I did I eyed off the clouds forming all around me. It was clear that what had started as fluffy white clouds had more ominous intentions. Some great big cumulonimbus had been growing throughout the past couple of hours, with some very dark patches behind me. So should I change from my jeans into my waterproof touring pants. This question would pop up again several times over the coming hour or two.

I rolled on and completed the Highland Way arriving a Marulan for fuel. Checking the weather radar suggested that my route to Tarago would be clear but there were some cells developing right on top of Tarago and in a line stretching north. I might be able to slip around the south end of all the weather, depending upon what happened at Tarago.

So it was back on the bike and off towards Tarago. The weather was still clear with patchy clouds. I eventually gave up worrying and pulled over to change my pants. While I did this, I could hear thunder in the distance from somewhere ahead of me – I was expecting a sporting finish to the ride now.

The last leg into Tarago had some great black clouds and lightning to the south and it had obviously been very wet in Tarago not long before I went through. There were clearly more cells coming, but it was obviously a weak spot in the wall of weather that I slipped through. From this point I had a few scattered showers and some damp road but by the time I hit Bungendore the road was only damp. I was well home when the rain started caught up and started at my place.

Leave a Reply

