XCom – Tough work

Xcom is harder now. I was used to the fully research, well resourced highly skilled team from the old game. Now, it’s back to square one.

I’ve had some casualties, I could be about to lose a couple of countries which could be pretty terrible. The aliens are similar to the first game, but there are a few twists. There is a new mechanical squid thing, that can go invisible. It’s an ambush predator and like to appear right beside a soldier before strangling them.

The new enemy.

The new enemy.

I picked up a tip on that before I started playing, so whenever they are in the vicinity I need to ensure everyone is covered by someone else. But to be honest, in this game, that’s good practice anyway.

Teamwork, taking it slow and having an attack or response up your sleeve are the catch words here.

I’ve left the the story alone for a bit – a dangerous move in this game, as the aliens steadily get stronger whether you do or not. So if you leave it too long they can overwhelm you.

There’s been a couple of hints at something more happening. I just collected a man out of China (I think) and he hinted at some things. Hopefully we’ll see soon.

I’ve finally started the Arc Thower and will need to build a containment facility. I’ll try to do that once I get through the next monthly review. I may just have enough satellites up to hold on to the panicked countries.

Fingers crossed.

 

Leave a Reply

