The Wise Godmother speaks…

work ethic quotes

Due to a couple of appointments I ended up at home early this afternoon, in time to listen to the Twisted Nether blogcast live (I think the last time I did that was when Navi was interviewed, but then they changed the time so it’s mid afternoon Mondays here).

Anyway, a blogging I have heard of, but never actually read or listened to, the Godmother of ALT:ernative Chat was being interviewed. Now I know Navi is a friend of hers, but I suddenly feel like I’ve been missing out.

Godmother was talking about her boy and and a bunch of things about needing to do work in WoW, when she said this…

Work is the ethic.

And suddenly all the grinds and all the other work that we all put in making our characters better, learning to play them better makes more sense. I have often heard people discussing how their best memories, or favourite achievements are the ones we have worked for. My favourite in game ones are the same.

Blizzard is teaching kids (again she was talking about her boy) that you need to work hard to get what you want – BUT also that when you get that thing, you will treasure that more than what was given to you.

This lesson is everywhere. It’s in lots of games too, not just WoW. I still remember the accomplishment I felt when I finished XCom, or the original Tomb Raider (I’m working on the new one at the moment, hence the lack of WoW at the moment).

And these lesson last outside as well. Kids can learn these lessons in the games and take them outside. For example, I’m working hard at improving my riding skills. It’s going to be a long process, but I’ll have that forever.

So if you want something, work for it, when you get it – you’ll treasure it more, whatever it was.

One thought on “The Wise Godmother speaks…

Leave a Reply

