Canberra – IT setup planning

The Cyclons had a plan --- well so do I.

The Cyclons had a plan — well so do I.

Well I have been occasionally working on my intentions for my IT plan when I move to Canberra. The sketch above is my current favourite. The red lines are Gigabit Ethernet (I have a spare modem/router at the moment)

Mac Mini

  • iCloud stuff (contacts, email, notes)
  • iTunes
  • Syncing with phone
  • iPhoto

Mini ATX PC

  • Games (MWO for sure but BL2, Walking Dead might stay on Mac. I haven’t decided about a WoW return or not)
  • Video Editing

PS3

  • Games (Still gotta finish Tomb Raider)
  • TV watching and recording

NAS

  • Time Machine backup
  • PC Backup
  • iTunes Library
  • Video storage

I think that covers everything. I already have the PS3, the NAS and the router.  I will have to buy the monitor and build the PC but that’s not hard. I’ve got the parts list pretty much sorted now. Get the MacMini later (as I can live with my phone and iCloud for that stuff initially) or I may consider a MacBook Air instead if I find the portability useful.

Later a second 27″ monitor would be pretty sweet :)

Home will keep the older i7 PC and the iMac. I’ll move the iTunes library back to an external HDD from the NAS. This will be more simple for them to manage (though the NAS has hardly caused any trouble so far for them) as all are pretty maintenance free.

Look like a good setup?

Leave a Reply

