Graduation

Screen Shot 2013-06-19 at 6.19.52 AMRough but successful day today, but then finals exams are supposed to be like that aren’t they. The session started as I progressed some very simple missions for the advanced military agent:

  • fly here and blow up (yes, just blow up my ship)
  • fly here and remote shield rep someone
  • fly here and pick up stuff
  • fly here and use your web

All unopposed and I’m thinking have they mixed up the missions between the simple agent and the advanced. One even had me refit a Civilian Autocannon and I had to use it to destroy a single ship. The other agent had me clearing several groups of pirates, not one or none.

So then he announced that the next was a test (seriously, have you taught me anything??), I was to hunt down a particular pirate and ensure he was dead.

But be warned they would definitely be using some of those webs against me.

With some missiles fitted, I planned to orbit at long range and try to separate him from any support, while grinding him down.

I arrived in the location and they scrambled from the Pleasure Dome they had been visiting. I closed the range so I could shoot and lock and what I hoped was outside web range. However the damage from his wingmen was making inroads to my shields, so a change of tactic, switch to the wingmen and get them down.

This didn’t seem to help and it became obvious that they were keeping me beyond the max range of my guns and with only a single missile I wasn’t DPS fast enough. Then I realised that my target was also the one who had bubbled me. If I wanted to survive this, I had to take him out.

I turned back to him and ground him down with missiles. Tanking the other two I was into armour once, but my repair systems (and the capacitor) managed to stay ahead of the damage.

Screen Shot 2013-06-19 at 6.20.08 AMThe leader popped and the bubble dropped. I switched to the wingman, using afterburner to close quickly to bring the majority of my DPS to bear (the guns) and each wingman popped soon after.

Cleared a little loot from the leaders wreck and headed home.

Lessons learned are mostly focused around – I need more skirmish practice and to pay more attention to my own defences. I was managing the shield booster, but looked down again and found my shield down and half my armour gone. Another few seconds and I could have lost the ship!

But it was good and I need to figure out where to head now. Need to find out where to head for missions or join up with my Corp activities.

Leave a Reply

