And the wait goes on…

The wait for the Daytona continues. In the meantime I snuck down to the local Suzuki shop and took the GSXR750 for another test. This time I spent a while on the freeway followed by some time in the local city centre. I wanted to try long straight riding and what city riding is like on a bike that is more aggressive in its sitting position than my VFR.

Actually I found it a total non-issue. And so we can tick off another thing I was a little worried about for the Daytona.

Oh, if it turns out I don’t like the Daytona, I will be very happy with the GSXR as I really enjoyed riding it again. If it had ABS and a fuel gauge, it’d be a close thing. However, I get so many other things for the extra cash, plus the rideability of the triple over the inline 4.

The bike shop called on Thursday, the ship that the bikes are on is still expected on March 16 to Melbourne. From there I guess they go through Customs etc, so maybe a week or two after that, they’ll be in the shop!……..

On another note, I’ve picked up a Sony Action Cam, similar to a GoPro, but it was about $250 cheaper. I’ve tested it a couple of times in the car, as well as one time on my bike. That was with it taped to the top of my helmet, going really slowly just around the block. I haven’t yet got a mounting set up that I am happy with, so more videos will have to wait. Check me out on YouTube, under the same channel as this blog.

So far it has performed ok. The main limitations is the lack of mounts, and the terrible wind noise (basically all that can be heard) at speed. I have ordered a couple of bits to try a better solution for mounting it. I will also try to get an external mic in order to fix the wind noise problem…and I will start to post some videos… expect even worse dribble than this blog :) but with video!

Leave a Reply

