Another Test Ride

The Daytona’s arrival in Australia has been delayed. Which is actually a good thing. It gives me some more time saving money before I get it. It also gives the Internet more chance to put news and reviews from other owners out there.

In the meantime, my dad and the salesman both suggested I try the Triumph StreetTripleR as some way to start to get some idea of the new Daytona. It’s not a bad suggestion, while tuned a little differently with a different seating position it is the same triple engine and similar in weight etc.

This afternoon I had a little time to spare so I dropped into the shop to check one out.

2013-Triumph-Street-Triple-R_007

Sitting on it, I recalled my Ducati test ride last year. They are a similar style bike, but I felt more comfortable on the Triumph. I can’t say that’s because the bike suited me better or if my expectations were closer to reality after that experience. I left the shop and headed to the freeway, planning to get onto some side streets on the way back to the shop.

My main goal was to see what it was like sitting about in traffic, whether I was swapping gears all the time getting about a slow speed.

After a short dash up the freeway (heavy traffic so not much chance to let it have its head) I hit a couple of local roads I knew as I headed back to the shop. Traffic was easy and even from low revs the bike was happy to pull away, exactly what I was looking for. It was also happy in one gear at city traffic, makes it easy to manage and you’re not pulling in the clutch al the time.

Triumph_Street_Triple_R_2013_st1pz

The brakes were great too, big initial bite almost caught me out as it’s a lot stronger than my VFR. But again, that was easy to get used to and ride merrily along.

Overall, I was really happy with the performance in the areas I was looking at.

BUT I didn’t like it. After two rides of the “street fighter” style bikes, I’ve not liked them. The seating position feels even more upright than my VFR. They’ve both been slim between my thighs and I like to have something there to grip.

And at the end, I’m more happy with how I expect the Daytona to feel.

Leave a Reply

