Out of left field

I have pretty much decided upon the GSX-R750, and the votes on colour went pretty much the way I had expected, black being most peoples favourite and mine as well.

I had been running through most of the other manufacturers and styles of bikes, just to check that there wasn’t something else out there that I would be interested in, that was close in price to the GSXR. There are some exotic bikes that I would consider, but their price pushed them out of the running. Otherwise they were bikes I wouldn’t ride, or were similar to my VFR.

146_1210+2013-suzuki-GSX-R750_BLK_L3_P+

No fuel gauge? What is this 1913?

I rang Triumph to get a quote for their Daytona 675. Unfortunately they don’t have any, and won’t be getting anymore.

Because in February the 2013 bike comes out… and its an all new bike.

The price was also close to the GSXR, so I did some research on the bike and the GSXR now has a challenger, at least until I ride the 675.

But its more than just the price, the upgraded 675R that I’m looking at is only a little more than the standard one and comes with ABS, Olins suspension, Brembo brakes and a few other modern bits and pieces. These are top notch systems. Even little details like the fact it has a fuel gauge. It’s also a brand new, latest tech bike, whereas the GSXR is 3 years old now and Suzuki tends to lag on putting all the nice stuff into the 750 as it doesn’t have any competitors (the 600 and 1000 are a different story). So maybe the ’14 or ’15 bikes will get some improvements. It’s also a great looking bike (and will make my dad as envious as hell if I bought a Triumph, lol)

2013-Triumph-Daytona-675R_010

Let’s put a white bike against a white background…..

The 675 does give up a little bit to the 750, but reviews of the older 675 suggest it’s actually easier to ride on the street, with the torque curve lower down. However the riders position is more aggressive, so perhaps not so good for longer rides or commutes. At higher speeds, the 750 would pull away easily from the other bike.

2013-Triumph-Daytona-675R-static033

So now its a proven 750 with a lot of good stuff that I’ve eyed up for a long time, or the newcomer with all the extras, that I might find less enjoyable in the long term. The other thing is that I can walk into the Suzuki shop and basically ride out (almost) but the Triumph I could well end up on a waiting list. And I do want to strike while the iron is hot.

Leave a Reply

