PlayStation Report

Ah, I’m enjoying this PS3. I hit the shops yesterday and rummaged through the sale and preowned stuff to see if I could get some interesting games for cheap. I’ve never been one to grab the latest games, mostly as I don’t feel like paying that much. And I haven’t usually finished the last one at that point.

So anyway I added Dirt 3 and Batman: Arkham City to my collection. XCom is good, and a real thinker game. I’m getting nervous though as I usually don’t end up to well in these build, strategise in the end game. So we’ll see. It’s very similar to the original game though, and that’s good. So I’ve been working away slowly at it during the week.

XCom Enemy Unkown

XCom Enemy Unkown

I’ve been a big fan of rally games since the old Sega Rally game. I spent many hours in the old Colin McRae Rally games on the PS1. So with the good reviews, Dirt3, by the same company (Codemasters) seemed like a no brainer. This afternoon I sat down to have a go at their latest.

Dirt 3

Dirt 3

Wow, so familiar, yet better. Sure it didn’t have the WRC connection, but I think that might actually help as they can add in a whole range of race types. I did have to get used to the different default control layout, but quickly settled into following my co-drivers instructions… just like old times.

Batman: Arkham City

Batman: Arkham City

This evening though I cracked open Batman. I feel a bit silly as I just purchased it in the Steam sales, but I don’t think I’ll be playing it there. I’ve only just started so I’ve expected it to be a little linear as they tutor me in the controls. Hopefully this improves somewhat. Or it may be a bit like Assassins Creed with the side quests and challenges if you want to. About the only thing that’s bothering me is that the controls seem dynamic. They change depending upon the situation which is kinda making it hard to remember what to press to do what.

I started it a couple of times before I really read one of the warnings. It has a 3D mode. Finally I have use for those silly the glasses that came with my TV :).

It looks pretty cool in 3D, actually a lot better than in 2D. Sort of smoother edges and its umm more 3D lol. And it doesn’t matter that I only have 1 set of glasses.

So far I’ve met Catwoman, Two Face, The Penguin and Harley Quin. I think I saw a picture of Poison Ivy so the gang is all there. Very cool game.

So I’m enjoying the PS3 a fair bit. A lot more than I expected actually.

Leave a Reply

