Another Distraction

I haven’t played for a week, which isn’t totally unknown (during the week it can be difficult to get a chance to play) but I have to admit I have another distraction.

The other week I had to get a Blu-Ray in order for my wife to watch some videos she’d borrowed from a friend. After looking at all the options, I bought a PlayStation 3. I think I it was 1999 when I bought the PlayStation (1) that is sitting in the cupboard. The PS3 is about 6 or so years old now and I’ve only just upgraded.

I got a bundle with a second controller, a couple of old games and the new Spiderman movie. Not fussed about the other stuff, but the second controller made it worthwhile.

Initially I was pretty non-plussed as it seemed like every time I wanted to do something I had to download yet another patch/app from the internet. However about a week later that seems to have stopped.

I’m enjoying the new XCom at the moment, and loving that it can play my old PS1 games. I am considering something like Hitman or Far Cry to get my fix of sneaky Tenchu like games. And I will have to look for a Rally game as well, as that’s an old favourite. And there’s a new Tomb Raider next year.

And probably a new PlayStation… oops.

I will also have a pick through a couple of shops second hand bins and see if there is anything for Miss 3 and 5 to play. (and me!)

I don’t like the disc loading method, seems a step back from the older slot load one (I have the new super slim PS3) and I did think I could play more from the HDD.

Oh, it played the Blu-Ray fine, so Mrs was happy (ish).

Leave a Reply

