Smoke Powered!

You know that all electronics are smoke powered don’t you.

You see they all stop working whenever the smoke gets let out, hence they run on stored smoke.

I let the smoke of the old PSU last night as I was swapping the kit between cases. I think I managed to apply power somewhere I shouldn’t have.

I picked up a new PSU this afternoon and have installed it. With much trepidation I started it up, to silence and blackness.

Except for a little blue LED. No giant flash and smelly smoke coming out, so I was somewhat encouraged.

Then facepalm, as I hadn’t connected the display, hence the blackness. I switched it off and plugged it all back in to see the boot sequence starting up. Nothing booted as I have a blank SSD installed and so no OS, that’s being installed as I type.

Whew, dodged a bullet there, but I will have to keep an eye on the system in case there’s other damage.

Leave a Reply

