Wait! Ok, this is getting silly now.

Mabango, my now level 51 Warlock, had finished up in Tanaris and I was starting to quest in Un’Goro Crater. But I wasn’t enjoying myself, so I headed back to Org to check the Warchief’s Board for some guidance. This headed me up to Winterspring.

Landed there yesterday and logged off until this morning. Started questing in the Winterfall tribes areas and ran across this guy.

Yup, another elite. Whilst moving around to get a good frontal shot, Mabango got a bit too close so this is the best I managed.

Mezzir the Howler

Before he ended up a corpse.

So in what, four weeks, I’ve come across five rares. But in the preceding 6 years, only one rare. Or now, I’m starting to think, Navi and Cym have brought them to my attention and I just never noticed them.

Or my previous supposition – they’re just not as rare now.

PS. After I posted this I reread the rare posts I’ve done recently and I’ve noticed something else. I always get too close trying to take a pic. Mab, Dasal and now Mabango have set off the rare before my “Planned Shot” was taken. Need to remember that for next week’s rare.

6 thoughts on “Wait! Ok, this is getting silly now.

  1. I don’t think the spawn rate of rares was increased, I think the number of rares was increased.

    I love finding and screenshotting. I just wish there was a comprehensive list.

  2. I’ve found a lot of rares levelling my Druid through vanilla and TBC content, but I think some of it has to do with the fact sometimes I’m the only person in an area and there simply hasn’t been anyone else to get it.

    • ooo, I like that theory as well. Considering I’m on at strange hours and often in odd zones (how many people are questing in Winterspring at 5.30am these days) it’s quite possible.

  3. You’re missing some? I was about to link Sizzle to your site saying that you have a comprehensive list that he’s looking for. It must be pretty close though.

Leave a Reply

